2011 in Review: Top 10 Best Collaborations

This year, more than any other year, it has been commonplace for producers to come together for a collaboration on one or more tracks. Although it might be hard to figure out why we’ve seen this rise in collaborative efforts, one can only assume that the explosion in popularity of EDM all over the globe has contributed to this phenomenon. Maybe David Guetta has something to do with it, as he is known in large part for helping to bridge the gap between EDM and pop music, by collaborating with artists such as the Black Eyed Peas, Akon, Usher, Flo Rida, Kid Cudi, and MANY more. He’s been voted the #1 DJ in the world, received several Grammy nominations, and is straight up killin’ it around the world (even if he isn’t among our favorites here on MMIBTY).

Many artists in the EDM game have risen to popularity because of their capability to produce awesome tracks (Avicii, Tiesto, Diplo), or because they have such a unique sound (Skrillex, Dada Life, Dillon Francis). What keeps this constantly-evolving genre fresh is the fact that two artists can come together and work on a track that truly kicks some ass. Maybe the track comes from two unlikely collaborators, like Skrillex and Kaskade coming together to make “Lick It”, Tiesto and Steve Aoki coming together to make “Tornado”, or Knife Party and Swedish House Mafia coming together to make “Antidote”. Maybe the track comes from two guys that you’d say, why haven’t they done something together sooner – like Skrillex & Nero’s remix of “Promises”, Chase & Status working with Sub Focus on “Flashing Lights”, or Arty & Mat Zo on tracks “Rebound” and “Mozart”.

Whatever the case may be, here are our selections for the ten best collaborations of 2011 (in no particular order):

1.) Steve Aoki & Afrojack – No Beef
2.) David Guetta & Afrojack – Lunar
3.) Laidback Luke & Steve Aoki – Turbulence
4.) Nero – Promises (Skrillex & Nero Remix)
5.) Chase & Status with Sub Focus – Flashing Lights
6.) Diplo & Skrillex – Amplifire
7.) AC Slater & Xaphoon Jones – Believe Me
8.) Tiesto & Hardwell – Zero 76
9.) Sandro Silva & Quintino – Epic
10.) Arty & Mat Zo – Mozart

Download our zip file package of all ten songs HERE!