Karlsson and Winnberg of Miike Snow’s Essential Mix

The talent that pours out of Sweden never ceases to amaze me. Miike Snow, the indie electro-pop trio pictured above, have risen to international fame since their 2009 self-titled debut album introduced the world to their sound. The group is comprised of production duo Christian Karlsson and Pontus Winnberg, who, if you can’t tell from their telling names, are from Sweden, and frontman/singer Andrew Wyatt, who is American-born and raised. Miike Snow is reponsible for some of the biggest tunes to become bigger remixes this year, like “Devil’s Work” which got an awesome reworks by Dirty South and Keys N’ Krates and “Paddling Out” which got remixed by Bart B More, Wolfgang Gartner, and others. So what happens when you take the singer out of Miike Snow and put the remaining two behind the decks on Pete Tong‘s infamous Essential Mix show? What you get is pure Swedish producing and DJing talent as many of us have come to expect. After what the pair reported was around two months of preparation for the mix, the end result is a simply phenomenal journey through sound, spanning enough genres to make your head spin. Forget everything you know about Miike Snow and their sound ’cause this mix ain’t it. What it is, however, is easily one of the best Essential Mixes of the year. Tracklist after the jump.


Style of Eye – Norway [Fool’s Gold Records]
Miike Snow – Archipelago [Universal Republic]
Arcade Fire – Sprawl [Soulwax Remix] [Merge Records]
Kodak Durantin & DJ Nibc – Rymdstungen [Trunkfunk Records]
Giorgio Moroder – E=MC2 [Ariola]
Flying Lotus – Sangria Spin Cycles [The Do-Over]
Four Tet – Locked [Domino]
Feadz & Kito – Wettex
Style of Eye – Ray Dee Oh (FM Mix) [Fool’s Gold Records]
Karlsson & Winnberg – The Dance (feat. Spank Rock)
Nancy Sinatra & Karlsson & Winnberg – Boots
Fun Boy Three – Lunatics [Chrysalis]
Lykke Li, Smile & Pontonen – Come Smile
Niki and the Dove – Somebody (Karlsson & Winnberg Remix) [Sub Pop]
Hortlax Cobra vs Pontonen – Perform Repeater
Emmanuel Jal & Olof Dreijer – Kuar (Olof Dreijer Remix) [Inner City Visions]
Miike Snow – Bavarian [Universal Republic]
Miike Snow – Pretender (Tony Senghore Remix) [Universal Republic]
Clouds – Optic [Turbo]
Clouds – Vaults [Turbo]
Miike Snow – The Wave (Flight Facilities Remix) [Universal Republic]
Boys Noize – XTC [Boysnoize Records]
Gesaffelstein – Depravity [Bromance Records]
Icona Pop – I Love It (Style of Eye Remix) [ATLANTIC]
Galantis & A Trak – Jumbo
Loops Of Fury – Light Em Up [U&A Recordings]
Wolfgang Gartner – There And Back [Ultra Records]
The Prodigy – No Good (Oliver Twizt Bootleg) [Bootleg]
Tujamo & Plastik Funk – WHO [Happy Music]
Miike Snow – In Search Of (Yesyesyo Remix) [Sony Music]
Style of Eye – Ray Dee Oh (Club Mix) [Fool’s Gold Records]
Hervé – How Can I Live Without You (Make It Right) (Moonbootica Remix) (feat. Ronika) [Cheap Thrills]
Miike Snow – Paddling Out (Bart B More Remix) [Columbia]
Niki And The Dove, Oliver Twizt & Sandro Silva – Mother/Gladiator (Carli Mash)
Carli – Believer
Club Cheval – Now U Realize [Bromance]
Clockwork – Titan [Mad Decent]
Galantis – Tank [Robotberget]
Galantis – Raveheart [Robotberget]
Blatta Inesha & Casino Gold – Consign To Oblivion (Peo De Pitte Remix) [U&A Recordings]
Miike Snow – The Wave (Thomas Gold Remix) [Axtone]
Jefferson Airplane & Miike Snow – Somebody To Love vs. Devil’s Work – Dirty South Remix (Ronson Mash)
Miike Snow – Pretender (Deniz Koyu Remix) [Columbia]
Jay-Z & Kanye West – N****s in Paris (Karlsson Bootleg) [Bootleg]
Sandro Silva & Quintino – Epic (Luminox Remix) [Free Download]
TNGHT – Higher Ground [Lucky Me]
D.I.M – GO!