My Thoughts On SHM’s “Announcement” and BBC Essential Selection

So unless you were hanging out under a rock yesterday (or doing anything else mildly important), you most likely heard about SHM’s much anticipated announcement which has received a lot of hype over the past month or so. If you have no idea what I’m talking about, watching this video that their record label released yesterday should give you a pretty good idea. Of course, if you’d rather skip watching too many minutes of BS, let me sum it up for you. Basically, the first component of their major announcement is that they will be playing two massive shows –  one at Madison Square Garden in New York City on December 16th of this year and the next at Milton Keynes Bowl in the UK on July 14th of 2012. The second is that they will be releasing a live album entitled One Night Stand, set to be released in December of this year.

OK, let me tackle the first part of this announcement. I guess what’s being billed as the major element of these two shows is that MSG and MKB can hold 20,000 and 65,000 fans respectively. So basically anyone who has enough money and who has never seen SHM before can have a very good shot of being able to see them at one of these dates. Of course, 20,000 isn’t very many people and I have been to many a show at MSG that has been sold out, so there is no doubt that this one will be as well. But two dates? Really? I know that our own Soup and several others across the internet thought they had “cracked the code” a few weeks ago and had predicted this would be the announcement. And, disappointingly, they were all right. How can this much hype surround two dates, one of which isn’t for another 10 months? Where’s a world tour? Where’s a chance for more than 20,000 desperate American fans to get to see you? Multiple dates at MSG at least? No.

Second, a live album? Are you fucking kidding me? I mean, let me make myself clear. I have seen SHM live twice and both times were amazing. At EDC Vegas this year, I got kicked out of the festival on my way in to see them the last day and immediately went into the parking lot and dropped $60 on another ticket and thwarted security to get back in. My point is: they throw down live. But do I want to hear a live album? Fuck no. I want more original productions. More of that sound that has made them so popular. This was almost a bigger slap in the face to me than the measly two dates.

What bothers me most about this announcement is every single fuckhead in this world of EDM is calling this a huge leap forward for the electronic music movement and think it is a game-changer. I can’t even begin to describe how STUPID I think this all is. IF the announcement was something like a world tour AND an original album, then MAYBE, just MAYBE I would agree.

Anyways, as much as this whole thing did piss me off, like everyone else I love the three boys of SHM and had to bring you some of their latest ish. Three days ago, Sebastian, Steve, and Axwell sat in for Pete Tong on his Essential show on BBC Radio 1 and played what is being called SHM’s Essential Selection (they already had an Essential Mix from last year which was a live recording of their 2010 Creamfield’s show). Aside from the fact that I think they talk way too much through this whole mix, it has some amazingly solid house music in it (as expected) and I highly recommend it. I just hope I’m wrong and these shows and the live album really are game-changers, but I sincerely doubt it. Tracklist after the jump.

Swedish House Mafia – BBC Radio 1 Essential Selection (9.16.2011)

01 – @01min Swedish House Mafia feat. John Martin – Save The World w/Swedish House Mafia feat. John Martin – Save The World (Knife Party Remix)
02 – @05min Dada Life – Happy Violence
03 – @08min Niki & The Dove – Mother Protect (Alex Metric Remix)
04 – @10min Axwell vs. Rem vs. Ferry Corsten – Heart Is King Vs. Losing My Religion Vs. Punk (Axwell Bootleg)
05 – @15min James Blunt – Dangerous (Deniz Koyu & Johan Wedel Remix)  [Axwell Edit]
06 – @19min Arty – Around The World w/Axwell feat. Errol Reid – Nothing But Love
Essential Countdown
07 – @22min Swedish House Mafia & Knife Party – Antidote
08 – @26min Justice – Audio Video Disco
Essential New Tune
09 – @30min Dirty South & Those Usual Suspects feat. Erik Hecht – Walking Alone
Axwell In The Mix
10 – @34min Jan Driver – Golden Super
11 – @36min Michael Calfan – Resurrection
12 – @39min Rye Rye feat. Robyn – Never Will Be Mine (Fedde Le Grand Dub)
13 – @42min Serge Devant feat. Taleen – 3AM Eternal (Zoltan Kontes Remix)
14 – @45min Arty vs. Matisse & Sadko – Trio
15 – @48min Thomas Gold – Sing 2 Me
Influential Tracks
16 – @50min Daft Punk vs. Thomas Bangalter vs. Stardust – Human After All vs. Together vs. One More Time vs. Music Sounds Better with You (Daft Punk Alive 2007 Mashup)
17 – @52min ID – ID
18 – @54min Aphex Twin feat. Run Jeremy – Windowlicker
19 – @58min Man With Guitar – Man With Guitar
Sebastian Ingrosso In The Mix
20 – @60min Alesso & Sebastian Ingrosso – Calling
21 – @64min John Dahlback feat. Erik Hassle – One Last Ride (Tommy Trash Remix)
22 – @67min Calvin Harris – Feel So Close (Benny Benassi Remix)
23 – @69min Cazzette vs. Fatboy Slim – Killmode vs. Right Here Right Now (Cazzette A Soccer Hurdle Bootleg)
24 – @72min Cassius – I Love U So
25 – @73min Michael Woods – Bullet w/Nero – Promises
Steve Angello In The Mix
26 – @76min Steve Angello pres. Who’s Who – Yeah w/David Guetta & Afrojack – Lunar
27 – @79min Pendulum – The Island (Steve Angello & AN21 & Max Vangeli Remix)
28 – @81min DJ DLG – The Ritual w/Daft Punk – Superheroes
29 – @84min Steve Angello & A-Trak – Higher w/Red Hot Chili Peppers – Otherside (Third Party Remix)
30 – @87min AN21 & Max Vangeli – Fresh Start w/AN21 & Max Vangeli feat. Example – Whisper
Swedish House Mafia vs. Swedish House Mafia
31 – @92min Lady GaGa – Judas (Thomas Gold Remix)
32 – @95min Devolution – Good Love (Alesso Remix)
33 – @99min AN21 & Max Vangeli feat. Example – Whisper
34 – @103min Chilly Gonzales – Knight Moves
35 – @107min St. Germain – Rose Rouge
36 – @111min Emeli Sande – Heaven (Nu Tone Remix)
Recorded at T In The Park
37 – @115min Coldplay – Every Teardrop Is A Waterfall (Swedish House Mafia Remix)